Musical Fidelity A1 driving Acoustic Energy AE1's?

Username: Khai

Post Number: 1
Hi all, I'm fairly new to high end audio, and managed to procure a pair of Acoustic Energy AE1's a few years ago - which I'm looking to build a system around. I have a line on a Musical Fidelity A1 amp, but am unsure as to whether it has enough juice to power my speakers, as I'm told that they're quite difficult to drive (by today's standards).

Will the A1 have enough power to drive my AE1's?

Thanks,

Khai

Gold Member
Username: Hawk

Highlands Ranch, CO USA

Post Number: 1204
Khai:

In a word, no. You are suggesting mating a very low efficiency speaker (84 db) with a very low power integrated amp (20wpc). Added to the fact that the AE1 has been out of production for over a decade, I would suggest that you probably won't even get the 20wpc rating. A lack of adequate power will manifest itself with a thin, anemic sound, that will sound somewhat congested in the bass. While I understand the the appeal of a Musical Fidelity amp, this is not the one for those speakers.

I am also driving a pair of low efficiency speakers (Dynaudio Audience 42s) with the same efficnecy rating. I can tell you I am driving them with a 100 wpc Rotel amp and that is barely enough to really drive my speakers. And Rotel amps are an honest 100 wpc, not a mass market amp phantom power.

I would recommend you investigate a newer amp with better power such as an NAD C325bee, a Rotel RA-1062 or RA-06, or even a Cambridge Audio amp, such as the 540A or 640A.

Good luck!

Post Number: 2
Thanks - I'll keep looking. Would you mind explaining (or pointing me to a link if it's been hashed to death) the whole power rating deal? I saw this amp (the A1) listed as "Class A" and am somewhat confused as to how the class ratings work and how it all ties in to wpc. For example, another amp I read about (that's way out of my price range) lists the following:

Pathos Classic One Mk II Integrated Amplifier.