Best sub $500 floor loudspeakers for JBL DCR600-Z receiver?

Username: Brannigan

Post Number: 1
Hello all. This is my first post and I'm completely new to all of this stuff. I'm hoping someone can help me cheat and recommend me the best stereo speakers for this receiver. (75w per channel stereo mode)
http://www.harmanaudio.com/search_browse/product_detail.asp?urlMaterialNumber=DC R600-Z&status=
I'll be using them for movies and music but surround sound is unimportant to me. I just want something well rounded. I was thinking about these
http://www.harmanaudio.com/search_browse/product_detail.asp?urlMaterialNumber=ST ADIUM-Z&status=
but like I said I really have no idea so any advice is appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Gold Member
Username: Nuck

Post Number: 6023
Maybe check out the Athena f2.2 speaks.
Not bad.

Post Number: 2
Thanks for your advice. I looked into them a little and they seem pretty nice. While I was searching around I came across these Acoustech HT-75's.
http://www.acousticsounddesign.com/core/view_BigProduct.cfm?pid=1063&sc=32&t=226
Opinions? They're cheaper and some think they're better but I thought I'd ask before doing anythink crazy.

Gold Member

Post Number: 6031
Brannigan, I have only heard the Athena's and liked them, with a H/K receiver. No heavy listening. Ya gotta try them in your room, to know.

Love the Nick.

Post Number: 3
Thanks

Post Number: 4
Well, everything I could dig up on the Athena F2.2's was extremely positive so I went ahead and ordered them for $415 shipped for the pair. Seems like a good price and hopefully it's not a scam or something. Thanks for you're help, I'll post back with my amateurish review once I've tried them out.

Post Number: 5