Which Receiver to Go with Paradigm Speakers?

Username: Allmusicathome

Post Number: 1
Newbie here, first post. I'm upgrading the post college stereo system. So far, the new speakers have been selected: a pair of Paradigm Esprit V.4 floor speakers and a pair of Paradigm Focus V.4 (bookshelf) speakers. They will be used for music listening exclusively. The room that they will be used in is L shaped, and thus the reason I use four speakers in it. The current receiver is by Sony - I'd like to upgrade it as soon as possible. A reasonable budget seems to be $500. I'd like to hook up my old speakers (Advent Prodigy Towers and Baby Advents (bookshelf)) in a second room, and use one receiver - the new one to be. And, I'd still like to be able to use the CD player and turntable with the new receiver. The AM/FM feature is desirable as well for we have a good independent FM station that we enjoy. Any suggestions for a new receiver that you may have will be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Platinum Member
Username: Project6

Post Number: 12739
For that budget, take a look at the Pioneer 1016.

Gold Member
Username: Artk

Albany, Oregon USA

Post Number: 3902
I just about posted that link Bernie. It's a multi channel reciever but probably the best in that price range combining all of what you appear to be looking for Karen.

2076_310069809_316743263%2C00.html,http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/pna/v3/pg/p roduct/details/0,,2076_310069809_316743263,00.html

Silver Member
Username: Gavdawg

Post Number: 217
This is the Integra DTR-4.6 receiver. It is more than your stated budget, at $600. But, if you can stretch your budget, I highly recommend this receiver. Many times, Integra and Paradigm are demoed together. They are a synergistic match, and sound VERY smooth together.

http://www.integrahometheater.com/model.cfm?m=DTR-4.6&class=Receiver&p=i

I apologise if this is more than you are willing to spend.

I will try to come up with something else later.

Gold Member
Username: Nuck