Old cd players

Username: Baxter77

Post Number: 1
I own an old sharp single disc cd player that was manufactured in 1991. My question is, what are some appreciable differences between an inexpensive cd player thats about 15 years old (besides no digital inputs)and a brand new one? At this point my player has only sentimental value but I'd like to keep using it until it dies. the model # is DX-200. thanks.

Post Number: 2
Sorry, I meant digital outputs. I'm a newbie, be gentle.

Gold Member
Username: Nuck

Post Number: 5602
MB, I am not familiar with that model. How much does it weigh, and is the transport tray plastic or heavier than that?

Bronze Member
Username: Logos

Kopavogur, IS Iceland

Post Number: 28
I once compared a 95 Model sony cd player which was mid price but without digital outputs. I compared it to the Pioneer universal DVD Player DV565a and the result was the sony was as good. The fancy Pioneer coulden't top it.

Post Number: 5
Thanks. Also, is there a life expectancy for the laser on an older cd player? does the internal clock get out of wack?

Gold Member
Username: Artk

Albany, Oregon USA

Post Number: 3876
New cd players are often much better than old ones. An old friend of mine who is an audio dealer recently (a couple of years ago) replaced his several year old 8k DAC and transport with an NAD C542 as he felt that the NAD offered better sound.

Gold Member

Post Number: 5634
However, Ravi here has had great results with older players, some fiddling involved, but he likes the solid transport foundation of the older units.

Gold Member
Username: Artk

Albany, Oregon USA

Post Number: 3877
Micahel, with a cd player you are livin' on borrowed time after 7-8 years.

Nuck, the fact remains that cd playback gets better all of the time. We have just reaced the point where it consistently sounds like music. Take the Saturn and Apollo for example. Performance not even considered possible 10 yrs ago can now be had for less than 1k.

Gold Member