2K rms in home

Gold Member
Username: Johnfiac

IL Afghanistan,...

Post Number: 1122
Is there anyway to connect up a car setup in a house without using a actual battery charger to charge the batterys for the amp? Maybe a A\C to DC convertor that can possibly do that? If not, what kind of amps will do 1Krms (1 channel) and what ohm loads.... im kinda new to the home audio equiptment

Silver Member
Username: Stefanom

Vienna, VA United States

Post Number: 302
Just out of curiosity, do you know what kind of volume gain you get from 1000wpc versus say, 100wpc?

Don't worry too much about huge wattage numbers, as most well built amplifiers/receivers will be able to drive the average home audio speaker to very high volumes. Efficiency/sensitivity of the speaker in question will give you an idea of how much power you will want (with some speakers being able to go as loud with 1 watt of power as some do with 100 or 1000 in professional audio cases).

Also keep in mind that you don't want to blow out your hearing by the time you're 20.

Silver Member
Username: Gamerdude

Ontario Canada

Post Number: 366
Bryston:-)

Silver Member
Username: James_the_god

Doncaster, South Yorkshire England

Post Number: 379
"(with some speakers being able to go as loud with 1 watt of power as some do with 100 or 1000 in professional audio cases)."

..and in non professional too, impedance and sensitivity. My old amplifier integrated into my subwoofer as part of the el cheapo sat/sub systems drove the satellites pretty loud.
When I got some bookshelfs(prior to buying a proper amp) i connected them to the subwoofer. The amp drove them pretty well at 6ohmz 86db sensitivity, considering the amp power was only about 5watts per channel.