Yet another request for a receiver recommendation

Username: Orpheusboy61

Post Number: 1
I've been digging through the mountains of information available online to help me determine the best HT/Stereo configuration for our new home, and I'm reaching the end of the research phase. I could use a little help from this forum's members to help me determine what receiver to audition/purchase. I'm a bit new at this, so please forgive any misuse of terms or faulty assumptions. I welcome your comments, feedback and constructive criticism.

Starting requirements/information:
1. System used more or less evenly for music and movies
2. Movies will be viewed in our 3-walled family room that spills over into the kitchen & nook area; music will be listened to in all 3 spaces mentioned; overall room dimensions are roughly 20' wide, 50' long, with 8' ceilings
3. My wife & I both are willing to sacrifice some HT performance to avoid:
- running speaker wires to satellite speakers
- for that matter, even having to install said satellite speakers
- rearranging any of the furniture in the family room (couch & chairs are placed off-center from optimal HT viewing/listening area
4. Multi-zone/speaker capability
5. HDMI (1080i or 1080p) up-conversion is a big-plus, but not a hard necessity
6. Budget for receiver, up to $1500
7. This may be stating the obvious: must meet the WAF
8. These are the speakers we're considering:
- A Channel (movies/TV) : Polk Audio Surroundbar for HT audio in Family Room
- B Channel (CDs, radio, XM, etc.): Bookshelfs, Emmas or Wharfdale 9.2; additionally, my wife has asked about having ceiling mounted speakers in the kitchen to augment our enjoyment of music in that area; this has not been firmly decided, as I suspect the right choice of stereo speakers could render that need moot.