Multiple rooms of speakers

Username: Ciner00

Post Number: 1
Hey guys,

Thanks for this great resource. I had a question about an amplifier. I'm new to all this.

Basically we have a 7.1 setup in our living room. Also in our bedroom we have 2 ceiling speakers and then in our guest room we have 2 ceiling speakers. The speaker wires are all run to living room though so I would like to have an amp in the living room that can be used to play everything at once, or play just one specific room if preferred.

Anyone know if this is possible? Basically an amp that I could turn on a specific two speakers (in our bedroom for example) and also in the guest room maybe... but leave the living room 7.1 speakers off. Does this kind of amp exist? Thanks in advance for your time

Gold Member
Username: Joe_c

Atlanta, GA USA

Post Number: 1183
What's your budget?

Post Number: 2
pretty good, saved awhile to get this setup right. shoot me the best solution to the problem regardless of price, and then if there is a less costly solution i'd be interested also :-)

Gold Member
Username: Joe_c

Atlanta, GA USA

Post Number: 1185
Denon 5805.

Or a lesser 7.1 reciever with second and third zones and possibly another amp to power those zones.

Post Number: 3
damn! looks pretty nice but so many inputs i'll never use seems a waste of 5 grand. what would be a good next step down with 3 zones and 7.1?

Post Number: 4
is there even any other 3 zone receivers out there? i found a denon 2 zone one that is affordable and hell but really need 3 zone. does not seem like many receivers offer it

Gold Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 9543

If you're only running ceiling speakers, buy an inexpensive separate system for the two alternate rooms and swap the home run speaker wire for interconnect. Run an interconnect from the tape monitor output of the main receiver to the tape input of the two separate systems.

Gold Member
Username: Frank_abela

Berkshire UK

Post Number: 1779