Denon or Onkyo?

Username: Nandy

Post Number: 1
Hello....I am an amateur in this field. I am trying to get myself a decent startup system. Currently my budget is around 500$. I narrowed down to a 7.1 channel receiver and 2 front floor speakers for now. Will add the rest of the speakers one by one as money trickles in ;)....So here are the ones which are available for me within my range, here with service & warranty backing

A/V Receivers:
Denon AVR 1507
Onkyo TX-SR504

Speakers:
Polk Audio Monitor 50 series
Onkyo SKF 4600

I am totally confused as to which I should go in for. The receivers pretty much match up to my eyes! But would be of great help if anyone could help me finalise from the lot! Or if you have any better suggestion most welcome!

Gold Member
Username: Nuck

Post Number: 5035
Hi Nandy.

You are informed enough to ask before you buy. Good.

When you say you will try 2 speakers to start, have you heard a good stereo setup lately?
How important is HT for you, as opposed to Music DVD?

Could you manage with a stereo setup as opposed to HT in your room?

I would like you to explore a quality stereo rather than 7 channels that are not proper..

Gold Member
Username: Joe_c

Atlanta, GA USA

Post Number: 1177
In my opinion, the Denon/Polk combo would be a great start. Not knocking Onkyo, but I prefer the Denon's musicality over the Onkyo and as for the speakers, I have always loved what Polk has done being that they are MM speaker producers.

I have a Denon and have never had one problem with it. Good luck and happy hunting. Best thing you can do is take a cd or movie you know pretty well and audition both setups (for a while too) that way you don't wonder if you made the right choice.

Gold Member

Post Number: 5039
No knock against Joe or his choices, I havn't heard a really good Denon in years.
At Denon's price, a lot of other stuff is available, albeit giving away features for power supply.