Amp advice

Username: Asgeir_kr

Post Number: 1
Hello, I'm new to this board and you could say im a bit of a beginner in the Hi-Fi world.

Currently im looking for a stereo system, haven't looked very far actually. The only item i've got so far are the speaker cables :D Which are QED XT-400 by the way. But i've been looking at the Denon PMA-1500AE amp, and some Canton Vento speakers. Any pointers you can throw at me? My main music preference is metal, meaning alot of double kicking bass drums.

Thanks in advance ...

Gold Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 9213

It's tough to build a system around speaker cables.

ReykjavikIceland

Post Number: 2
Perhaps, but i got those cables very very cheap and they came higly recommended.
But i'm very interested in that Denon amp, anyone have one? Any speaker tips ?

Gold Member
Username: Nuck

Post Number: 4329
AK, if you give us an idea of your budget, and what is available there, we will help.
Iceland? Dude, you are the first poster from there, I think.

ReykjavikIceland

Post Number: 3
Hi, thanks for replying, my budget is rougly 3-4000 euros.

Gold Member
Username: Nuck

Post Number: 4341
3-4k...thats a lot.
What is available there, and how close is a dealer?
Really intrigued about the whole Iceland thing, BTW.

ReykjavikIceland

Post Number: 4
Sorry for the late reply, been quite busy. Iceland has most of the bigger hi-fi dealers, marantz, denon, nad and so on. Most speaker dealers except for B&w sadly. But i actually bought that Denon amp i spoke of erlier, PMA-1500AE and im quite happy with it. Currently im looking at speakers, so far Dali and Monitor Audio speakers have cought my eye. Suggestions and recommendations are most welcome :-)

Username: Gnuyork

Marietta, GA USA

Post Number: 1
I must say I am very interested in visiting Iceland as well.

I am also new to the HiFi worls - been peeping on these forums for a while and this is my first post.