Separates vs Receiver

Username: Hypoxic_ones

Chantilly, Va United States

Post Number: 10
Apologies beforehand for a noob question, but I've never really looked at separates.

I recently auditioned some new speakers to replace my DefTech 7002s because the bass seems too muddy even after manual setup -- the whole shebang lacks crunch and accuracy. Looking to lose the "generalized" good sound offerd by the DefTechs I started looking at direct speakers (B&W, Energy, etc). My only concern is that every demo runs their speakers through NAD / McIntosh / Separate equipment. I'm told it won't matter much since I have a Pioneer VSX74Txi (and that the sales clerk no doubt wants to sell me speakers).

Should I look at separates first BEFORE switching speakers or is this truely a speaker setup problem?

Bronze Member
Username: Sorenp

Post Number: 17
Hi JL!

I'm quite new in the game, but my experience is that (in contradiction with what the sales clerk said) matching amp and speakers is a delicat issue. In general, a sloppy bass could result from both low quality speakers and the amp lacking the power to controll the speakers. I do, however, not have any prior experience with the DefTechs nor this particular Pioneer reciever so I don't know which is likely to be your problem.

However, to get back to your question, it all depends on what your goals are. If your planning to replace the amp anyway; It might be a good idea to look for an amp/speaker combination rather than picking each component individually. If, however, you would like to keep the reciever, I would sugest that you bring it to the store and insist on auditioning the speakers with it.

My general impression of Pioneer is that they are not delivering the power and controll that their specs promise, but there will be plenty of people to dissagress on that point. Anyhow, auditioning the speakers with your reviever might answer your question weather the reciever is a problem or not.

I hope this helps,