Cambridge 640a V2 matching speakers

Username: Audionewb

Post Number: 1
Hiya peeps,
i'm getting a new cambridge 640a v2, and i'm gonna have to get some good speakers for it. Now it's like this, i'm not planning to play it really loud because of neighbours, so i'm looking for a set of speakers that are designed for sounding well at lower levels of listening. I don't know if those exist, as i'm fairly new to this. So if anybody could recommend something, i can search the web and read about the speaker etc.

Silver Member
Username: Hawk

Highlands Ranch, CO USA

Post Number: 893
What is your budget?

Bookshelf or floorstanders?

Gold Member
Username: Nuck

Post Number: 3895
Well Romeo, you must have heard the Cambrige at the dealer, what speakers were connected that you liked the amp so much to buy it?

Post Number: 2
Hiya,
i'm planning on bookshelf speakers, as i plan on playing at lower volumes (does the cambridge sound good at low levels btw). Budget would depend more on the sound, although i don't plan on spending more than around 500 euro's. I heard the cambridge at somebody's house, he had paradigm speakers but i don't know which model. and he told me that for that price the cambridge was a pretty good deal (actually i'm buying it tommorow;). I read around here about NAD, but still i'll go for the cambridge, cause i'm getting a good deal. AT the dealer there are no brand speakers, he builds is own. I just need some recommendation from you experienced ppl :-), than i can read about them and go listen for myself somewhere.

Gold Member

Post Number: 3897
Well, Paradigm, then.

Silver Member
Username: Hawk

Highlands Ranch, CO USA

Post Number: 897
Romeo:

As much as I love Paradigm, I recognize that Paradigm has a unique sonic signature that requires the right electronics. Paradigm would not be my choice for a Cambridge integrated amp. Nuck is just being a loyal Canadian :-)