New System Help

Username: Isujharris

Post Number: 1
Hi,
I'm hoping someone can help me out with deciding what to buy. I'm a college student living in a decent sized apartment and want to put in a sound system. I'm into hardrock, rap, and alternative music; so I'd like a system with a good kick to it(gotta throw the best parties!) My budget is looking like it will be $600-800. So any advice as to what I should get will be great! Keep in mind that I have no receiver or speakers right now.

Gold Member
Username: Edster922

Abubala, Ababala The Occupation

Post Number: 4364
2-channel or surround?
% music to HT?
already have a CD or DVD player?

Post Number: 2
The majority would be 2-channel, however, it would be nice to be able to do surround. I do have a cd/dvd player. 75% music

Gold Member
Username: Timn8ter

Seattle, WA USA

Post Number: 1037
"I'd like a system with a good kick to it"

Why does that seem so familiar?

Post Number: 3
Sorry for the newbie comment.....I just meant that I would like a system with a decent amount of bass for rock/rap. As opposed to jazz, orchestra, etc....Any help is appreciate because I don't know much.

Post Number: 4
Alright, so i've been reading quite a few posts for some insight and it seems that the Athena F2's are quite popular and very nice. To couple them, the HK 3380 or 3480 receiver seems to be good also. Is this going to give me enough sound (bass and vocals) for what I described?

Silver Member
Username: Stefanom

Silver Spring, MD United States

Post Number: 108
It should do the job nicely, but it really depends on how much bass you want. If you really want to pound it out, I would suggest the HK3380 (200) with the Athena AS-B1.2 bookshelf ($120) and the SVS PB10-NSD subwoofer (429) or HSU STF-2 sub (399).

Post Number: 5
Like I said, I'm living in an apartment, so I don't think I need to be shattering windows or anything. Ha. But we're going to throw some parties occasionally, so some decent bass will go a long ways.