Thanks for the recommendations: System Finished

Bronze Member
Username: Sackohammers

Post Number: 54
Well, its about time I posted my results of research and recommendations from folks on here.

Thanks to Edster, Jan (even though our exchanges were heated), PG, and all of the other folks that chimed in.

I was a complete newbie when I stared, I'm still a newb, but learning every day.

Lineup
Receiver:
Harmon Kardon AVR-635
www.harmonkardon.com
~$500

Speakers
Ascend Acoustics 33-24
340 SE mains, 340 SE center, 170 SE rears, STF-3 subwoofer
http://www.ascendacoustics.com/pages/products/speakers/cmt340m/cmt340mhts.html
~$2,000 for speakers, stands, mounts, speaker wire

Front Speaker Stands:
Ascend Acoustics
http://www.ascendacoustics.com/pages/products/access/spkstnds/pedstlcmt340.html

Rear Speaker Mounting Brackets:
OmniMount 20
http://www.ascendacoustics.com/pages/products/access/brackets/omni_series20.html

Speaker Wire:
Ascend Acoustics 11 AWG
http://www.ascendacoustics.com/pages/products/access/cable/speakcable.html

Banana Plugs:
GLS Locking Banana Plugs - Gold Plated
http://www.speakerrepair.com/Merchant2/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Product_Code=BL2 0&Category_Code=AHH_Banana
~$50

DVD Player
Pioneer 588A-S
2076_15020669_236572701%2C00.html,http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/pna/product/ detail/0,,2076_15020669_236572701,00.html
~$140

Power Conditioner
Monster PowerCenter HTS 3500 MKII
http://www.monstercable.com/power/productPagePower.asp?pin=1021&LastPage=Referen ce%20Power
~$145 on Amazon

Various Cables and Connectors
Subwoofer cable, optical audio cables, etc
http://www.bluejeanscable.com/
www.accessories4less.com/
www.ebay.com
www.homedepot.com

A/V Rack (I should probably post this in a DIY section)
Archetype 5.0
http://www.salamanderdesigns.com/
~$100
Instead of buying this from Salamander I made it from scratch about two weekends ago.
I got almost everything from Home Depot (threaded legs, nuts, bolts, washers.