My 2.1 system

Username: Fullpana

MiamiUSA

Post Number: 2
Im a music lover, I love clarity, appreciate quality, and cant stand cheap systems trying to sell based on ads. Im a college student, on a kind of tight budget, but i'll do my best to save and make the time It took to save the money worth the investment

So here's where i need help, a surround system would not be ideal for me since my dorm living room would most likely be filled with people and dont want satellites to go crashing on the floor, so the 2.1 setup is what i have in mind. I can get an HK 3480 with the HK DVD, CD, MP3, etc player for $300 shipped altogether. Now for the speakers.
I listen to everything, from DJ tiesto to Led Zeppelin, to Manowar, and whenever situations demand, a little rap/hip-hop music.

I understand that a 2.1 system most likely requires a sub additionally to the speakers since I want speakers that perform well on mid to highs, and a dedicated separate driver for the low frequencies.
I have the ascend 170's in mind, they seem to have good reputation and enough power for my application, however I'd like the opinion from as many people as possible that have heard these before or would like to recommend me other choices.
As for a sub I have NO idea what to even think about, the dorm layout is this: http://www.fiu.edu/~housing/wwwdocs/layouts/layout_images/upt_quad.jpg.
I need to sub to penetrate al these walls if placed in the living room (the room in the middle, since the speakers most likely be.

O and btw the living room is about 20 ft long and 15 ft wide.
Another thing, an underpower receiver like the one I mentioned surely would not damage or hurt the quality of the speakers performance right? I mean, 120wx2 should be very powerful for that kind of layout.

Sorry for the uberhuge post, and remember, tight college student budget.

Thanks a lot, and nice to meet you guys.

MiamiUSA

Post Number: 3