How to get Pioneer receiver to recognize optical digital audio output from TV?

Username: Totallylost

Post Number: 1
Hi all,

I need help on setting up my new Pioneer Receiver VSX-816. I'm trying to connect audio from my Toshiba DLP using optical digital outputs to digital optical input of my receiver. And yes, I do use the digital optical audio link. However, it does not seem to work. I can also see the ProLogic. When I try to select the input signal, it can only detect analog, and not digital. Do you know if I am missing something as I'm a newbie to these things? I believe that my TV is setting up as Dolby Digital in the setting.

Please helppp...

Bronze Member
Username: Serniter

Piscataway, New Jersey USA

Post Number: 28
What source do you use (video1, video2)? The optical output is probably linked to one of these sources (on my receiver, its video2). So, if you're using the receiver on video1, it probably wont play the signals from optical cable...

Post Number: 2
How do I check what source from my receiver is the optical output is linked to? I cannot find that option from my Pioneer receiver. However, there is input options and I verify that DIGITAL OPT 2 is for TV/SAT. Am I missing something here? And I thought receiver is for audio only so why video1, video2, etc.

Please help...

Bronze Member
Username: Floyd_1977

Plainfield, IL USA

Post Number: 35
I'm not sure why you're connecting the audio out from your TV to your receiver, but I assume there is a setting on your TV to tell it to output the digital signal.

Also, on your receiver, you need to go through the setup menu to assign optical 2 to TV/SAT. I have the VSX-912, so it should be similar. You should be able to set the remote to Receiver mode, and then push the right or left arrow button to cycle through the menu options. When you get to OPT2, you should be able to push UP/DOWN until you get to TV/SAT.

Don't you have the manual? If not, it's almost definitely on Pioneer's support site.