My First Home Setup / Advice needed

Gold Member
Username: Suleman36

Maryland U.S.A.

Post Number: 3767
Ok im new to home audio so bare with me.

It will be used for music mostly and dvd movies and cable tv.

So far i ordered a Athena Audition F2.2 towers

I was recommended the HARMAN KARDON 3480 reciever for this setup.

Can you guys recommend me what i need to set this up. Thank You.

Gold Member

Maryland U.S.A.

Post Number: 3769
Ok im new to home audio so bare with me.

It will be used for music mostly and dvd movies and cable tv.

I was recommended the HARMAN KARDON 3480 reciever for this setup.

Can you guys recommend me what else i will need for this setup like speakerwire etc... Thank You.

p.s. The Athena's are on order and i spent $400 free shipping for them. Im on a budget of about $350 ballpark for the rest.

I have a 1989 Sony TA-AX390 Stereo Amplifer that has worked all these years perfectly.

Audio Power Specs:

With 8 ohm loads both channels driven, from 20-20,000Hz; rated 135 watts per channel minimum RMS power, with no more than 0.9% total harmonic distortion from 250 milliwatts to rated output.

It also has a 5 band graphic EQ with 5 sources/functions for Phono, Tuner, CD, Tape, Video

Now do you guys think i should use this with the Athenas instead of buying a new reciever ? Will i be able to use this with DVD's and movies ? Thanks guys

Bronze Member
Username: Darth

The woodlands

Post Number: 63
Yes, the HK 3480 is a good option, it will drive your speakers nicely, if you can find one on HK Direct on e-bay it should go for about $200.00
IMHO it will be a better match for the Athenas than the Sony. As for the wire, a 12 gauge regular speaker cable should be fine.

You can always connect your DVD player to the HK using one of the video inputs but keep in mind that this is a 2 channel receiver so you will not be able to listen to the movies in surround sound (5.1).

You can also try these guys for the HK