Looking for a sound system for college

Username: Pj87

Post Number: 1
I'm in the Boston area and I'm trying to put together a sound system for my college house in montreal. I'm rooming with 2 girls so I'm going to need something durable and can get pretty loud. For the subwoofer, the priority is on response rather than bass. I'm a college student so I'm not looking to spend a grand. The system will be in a large room and would like to hook it up to mp3 players and/or dvd player.

Any advice would be great.

Should I go for floor speakers, or smaller speakers + subwoofer (what I'm leaning towards now)?
Any recommendations for stores in boston or montreal, or internet sites (US or Canadian)?
Any recommendations on brands?

Paul

Gold Member
Username: Gavincumm

New York USA

Post Number: 1148
what type of music do you listen to?

Post Number: 2
I listen to rock but also techno and such if I'm going out to a club that night

Gold Member
Username: Edster922

Abubala, Ababala The Occupation

Post Number: 4016
Well for your specific needs and situation, I'd look at this combo:

120wpc HK stereo receiver

plus

Cerwin Vega party speakers
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0001H0QBK

$700 and you should be set...probably will not even need a subwoofer for music. Later on you can always add a used Crown pro amp for around $300 and REALLY make some ears bleed.

That HK receiver can be had on eBay for about less, the CVs likewise.

Username: Tay81

Post Number: 2
Audio Stores in Boston area:

Goodwin's High End- in Waltham on Rt 20
Spearit Sound- on Comm Ave between BU Bridge and Nickerson Field

Gold Member
Username: Frank_abela

Berkshire UK

Post Number: 1375
Rooming with 2 girls? You lucky so-and-so...

Bronze Member
Username: Nottingham365

MA USA

Post Number: 27
Tay81:

I don't think Goodwin's High End would offer the products or prices that Paul seeks as a college student.

Paul: