Need Help: Receiver purchase decision

Username: Sackohammers

Post Number: 1
Feel free to ask followup questions and I'll answer best as I can. I'm a newb.

Looking for a mostly HT solution. 75% HT and %25 music (girlfriend's iPod).

Devices
Out - Television - Component Video (2-3 years upgrade to HDMI or whatever is current at that time)

In - S-vid + Composit Audio - Cable Box
In - Composit - VCR
In - DVD - Not yet Purchased. Either HDMI or Component
In - PS2 - Composit for now, maybe upgrade to component but only if input is -freely- available
In - iPod - Composit is OK for now.

Speakers. Don't have them right now. Have an immediate need for Receiver and will get speakers as I can afford them in the next 2-3 months. Right now the girlfriend dug up some Bose 401 3-way 4ohm speakers CIRCA 1987. Will use these for fronts for now.
When it comes time, I would be happy to budget roughly $1,000 - $1,200 for 5.1 speakers+Sub.

Been agonizing over what to get. Initially I set a budget of $500 but it was fairly arbitrary. I see now that there may be benefit to going to $700 or so. Evidently that is the sweetspot for mid level?

Have looked at and considered Denon, Pioneer, Onkyo, JVC, Yamaha, HK. Did some reading here and learned just a tad about NAD, Marantz, Outlaw.

For me, I'm not an extreme audiophile and I haven't had a high end system to compare it too, so I won't be -disappointed- if I don't have the most awesome system on the block. But, I want to get something good... but maybe I don't need a Marantz/NAD/Outlaw if it means higher (unrealized?) sound quality at the expense of features that I might find more interesting.