VSX-74/72 vs. Denon 4306

Username: Novice2006

Post Number: 1
I would like some guidance on whether to purchase a Denon 4306 or Pioneer Elite VSX 72/74 for a new home audio system. I intend to use the system mostly for watching TV/DVD and some audio. The components are:

Front: Vienna Acoustics (Berg) pair
Rear: Vienna Acoustics (Berg) pair
Center: Vienna Acoustics (Webern)
Sub: Def Tech (Super Cube III)
Panel: Samsung (HL-S5679W)
Receiver: Pioneer Elite VSX 72 (?)
Receiver: Pioneer Elite VSX 74 (?)
Receiver: Denon 4306 (?)

I am a novice and not able to aptly determine the impact, if any, of the on-paper specifications of the potential receivers. I am concerned that I may not consider certain factors that may appreciably impact the sound quality or functionality of this system.

Thanks in advance.

Gold Member
Username: Edster922

Abubala, Ababala The Occupation

Post Number: 3984
1. Your usage: what % music?
2. What size room?
3. Have you actually bought the speakers and sub yet, or just plan to?
4. If "no" to #3, max total budget?

Post Number: 2
(1) 10% music
(2) 17 feet x 12 feet
(3) Selected, but not yet purchased
(4) Audio Equipment Only: $4,000 - $4,500

Thanks for your input.

Gold Member

Post Number: 3987
well, I know those VA speakers are very nice looking no question, but do you REALLY want to spend that much $$$ for a 90% HT system in a medium-sized room, or did someone convince you that such a budget was necessary for your satisfaction?

If you're set on those speakers and that budget, I'll say no more but I just want to make sure you understand that $4-4.5k is not really NECESSARY for your application and room---you could do as well if not better for half as much money with different speakers and receivers if you shop wisely.

In any case I definitely would recommend a different subwoofer, from Internet-direct makers Hsu or SVS.

Post Number: 3
Thanks. If I keep the same equipment, do you have any thoughts on which receiver I should purchase?