Bass output

Username: Buckchester

Post Number: 4
Hello, I recently bought a new Yamaha receiver (HTR-5840). It's a great sounding receiver (great clarity) although there is one issue I have with it - the amount of bass output it produces seems low. Before I bought this new receiver I had been using an old Sony stereo receiver (STR-V45) for over 20 years. I bought this receiver in 1981 along with a pair of JVC speakers (I'm still using the speakers). The Yamaha has better clarity then the Sony, but it doesn't come close to matching the bass output of the Sony and I have no idea why this is. The Yamaha is an HT receiver, although, I have just a 2-channel stereo set-up for listening to music. I do not have a subwoofer, but I don't need one with the speakers I have. I have the Yamaha receiver set-up so that all of the bass output comes from my two fronts, I have it in 2-channel stereo mode, I have the bass turned up to the max, and I still cannot achieve satisfactory bass. The speakers are not coming even close to being overworked. The speakers are fully capable of producing all the bass I need. These are 8ohm speakers, so they should be working fine with my new receiver. The speakers are 60W RMS and 120W peak. My new receiver is listed at 85W RMS per channel. My old Sony receiver was about 90W per channel. What gives?? Can anyone please offer me any advice? I have no idea what the problem is.

Thanks in advance.

Silver Member
Username: Geekboy

Tampa, FL United States

Post Number: 420
Jim: please tell us your brand (JVC) and model of speaker... it could help.

I don't have the HTR-5840 Yamaha so don't know all the bass calibration things you can or can't do with it. From what you wrote... and I read... it seems that you have it setup correctly. That is that you configured the system and told it you only have 2 speakers (front L/R) and no LFE/sub woofer.