Help! design my system please?

Username: Tmays44

Miami, Fl USA

Post Number: 1
I am a novice and have recently become very confused with all of the info. I just want a good decent system. Recently bought a Yamaha RXV2500 amp and am trying to match up some speakers for both audio and home theatre.

I have a fairly large room 20 X 27 with 8ft ceilings.

My wife wants only speakers that can be hidden in the ceiling. Does not like stand alones.

What and how many speakers?
What surround speakers?
What about a sub woofer?
What about a power conditioner? Is this necessary?

Also have two other rooms that need speakers and zone coverage? Do I need a speaker selector system? I f so which one?

what about remote control system?

I know this is a lot! but thanks you for the help. I am truly lost!

Silver Member
Username: Gman

Mt. Pleasant, SC

Post Number: 851
Speakers in the ceiling are alright for ambient sound, but very poor for the more directional sound required for serious music listening and movies. The sound cascading down from overhead does little for the acoustic cues that are embedded in movie soundtracks and surround or directional music.

Ideally your speakers should be at ear level, whether in-wall, towers, or bookshelf speakers on stands.

If your receiver doesn't have multi-room capability you need to buy a multi-room speaker selector from a company such as Niles.

Depending on your speaker budget there are various in-wall speakers of good quality. While most aren't as optimal as the same priced bookshelf or tower speakers, there are some excellent ones. In the main room for surround sound and movie watching you could compromise with your wife and use in-wall speakers. While there are in-wall subwoofers, it would be best to buy a self-powered separate subwoofer and see if it performs well in an unobtrusive area.

In the other rooms you could use in-ceiling speakers, particularly if they are to be used to just listen to music casually.