I need a new receiver, cant decide and on a budget so to speak!

Username: Gentlejax

Bossier city, Louisiana

Post Number: 1
First off I am a novice but I do already have a good receiver- HK AVR-320. Problem is I listen to rock music more than I watch movies with it. Mostly because well I need to buy some more speakers as I only have 2 tower speakers. I never got the rest of the "theatre speakers".

Here is my problem. I like to crank up the volume when I listen to music, thing is I would like to have more than 2 speakers running in Stereo to listen to it so that I dont have to crank the reciever to near max to get the volume.

I want to put in some more speakers so I can fill the house instead of pounding the towers I use now.

I am looking for a receiver with at least 4 channels that put out full bandwidth thru all of them at the same time.

I love the sound of the HK but I dont know much and it was my 1st deck so I have nothing to compare with.

I was really looking at the Denons and maybe the Onkyo's. I am trying to find a decent bargain this time and not spend as much on it as I did for the dang HK at CC.

I cant make up my mind on what is really going to work. I am going to get the rest of my home theatre speakers also but for the immediate use I want to have more power for MUSIC.

I have seen older Denons for under $300 and I have seen Onkyo 600 series at Ubid for $250.

I dont know wher to start because just based on reviews there are a lot of choices on paper but I need help based on what I want to do with it.

I hope you guys can tell me what to look for or what to avoid.

I have looked at these and similiar units

Denon AVR 1700, 1800, 3000, 95, 3200
Onkyo TX-SR602 ???

I have found several on Ebay for less than $200 used for the Denons.

I need opinions badly for less than $300-$400

It also depends on how fast I can sell my hardly used AVR-320. I say hardly used cause the wife hates loud stereo in the house. doesnt mind in the car...