Build me a System

Steinkea
Unregistered guest
I am new to the world of home audio and am looking to get into it. I want a system for music and I mainly listen to rap and country. I want a system with a lot of bass probally 2 floor speakers w/ the possibilitly of a powered subwoofer but am not too sure. I am not sure about the floor speakers I could deal with ones that arent floor. just looking for somethign thats gonna be loud and have good bass for under 1200 or so.

Gold Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 7280

That's way too much work for $1200. Just look through the archives of the forum in this section and you'll find more suggestions than you will ever be able to audition.

Silver Member
Username: Kano

BC Canada

Post Number: 811
Harman Kardon HK3480 Stereo receiver (120W x 2) - $268.99

Good place to start.

Now floor standing speakers under $1000 with good bass response for rap music is trickier - I own Polk Rti8s, and my experience with getting great bass has been either listen very loud - where the treble is overbearing - or Eq. up the bass and even reduce the treble, but IMO having to Eq. defeats the purpose of buying an accurate system. Speakers like Definitive Technologies' bi-polar towers would be great but they are out of your pricerange, as are most speakers of this design.

So I'd suggest bookshelfs (especially in a small to mid sized room), accompanied by a powered subwoofer.

Paradigm Monitor 5s with an HSU sub might fit your budget before cabling, or you could save more money with a Dayton sub from www.partsexpress.com.

Silver Member
Username: Kano

BC Canada

Post Number: 812
Harman Kardon HK3480 Stereo receiver (120W x 2) - $268.99

http://www.jr.com/JRSectionView.process?Section_Path=/Audio/Receivers/

Good place to start.