Best speakers for college student

PatrickW
Unregistered guest
Hi there,
I'm big on music and short on money like most college students. I play my music through my computer sound card (internal, may upgrade to external) or Ipod, in mp3 format, so obviously I'm not even able to take advantage of high-fi gear. In the past I've simply used high end "computer" speakers to play my music - the Klipsch 2.1. I just lost those, and I need a new noise-making solution.

I've of course heard that computer speakers (even the relatively high end ones) are pretty terrible compared to real mid-fi equipment. I need to create a system that can take a normal "headphone" line out turn it into sound for under 300 bucks. I've never built a component system before, so I really don't know what I'm doing. I'm thinking something like an amp or receiver and a couple of bookshelf speakers. I know that a lot of amp/speaker pricing is complete voodoo. I'd like some advice on how to get the best bang for my buck. Should I go with some kind of pre-assembled system, or buy an amp or receiver and speaker seperately?

Most of the info on the web deals with either stuff out of my price range (mid or hi fi gear) or stuff below my price range (computer speakers, crappy audio systems).

Thanks,
Patrick

Silver Member
Username: Exerciseguy

Brooklyn, NY USA

Post Number: 378
Patrick,

Consider this set-up, an Onkyo TXSR303S (factory refurb.) from ecost for $80 with these Athena Technology AS-B1 bookshelves for $120, or the AS-B2s (factory refub) for $150, and keep the rest of your $300 for coffee.

http://www.ecost.com/ecost/shop/detail.asp?dpno=689139

http://www.audioadvisor.com/store/productdetail.asp?sku=ATHASB1%2E2&product_name =Audition%20B1%2E2%20Speakers%20-%20Black,%20Pair

http://www.audioadvisor.com/store/productdetail.asp?sku=ATHBASB2%2E2&product_nam e=Audition%20B2%2E2%20Speakers%20-%20Black,%20Pair%20--%20Factory-Refreshed

Gold Member
Username: Edster922

Abubala, Ababala The Occupation