New CD player? Music is fatiguing (Paradigm + Rotel)

Username: Rumatt

Post Number: 1
I've had the following system for a year:

Speakers: Paradigm Studio 60's
Preamp: Rotel RC-995 (analog stereo)
Amp: Rotel RB-1070 (2x130 W)
CD Player: Arcam 7SE

Unfortunately, I find listening to music fatiguing, giving me a headache after a short amount of time. The system doesn't sound particularly harsh or "bright" to me, but maybe it's just edgy enough to cause fatigue. I'm new to higher-end audio, so I could use some advice. All I can think of so far is swap some of the components and see if it makes a difference.

I've read a few reviews say the Arcam 7SE can be "bright" in the wrong system, so I was thinking of picking up a different CD player used (< $400) and see if that makes a difference. I'm not sure whether to go for an older, higher-quality (at the time) player like a Rotel RCD-991, or a newer player (maybe NAD C542). Does anyone have any suggestions on what I might try? Is this the wrong approach altogether?

I'm far from an audiophile, so throwing substantial money at the problem shouldn't be necessary. What I already own is probably performing well beyond my ability to appreciate it. I'm thinking that either a) I just need to do a better job matching the components to take the edge off, or b) the problem is not with my system, but with my brain; it's possible that listening to detailed reproductions of my CD's simply give me a head ache. :-(

I did listen to the Studio 60's in an audio shop and they sounded incredible (to me anyway), but that was with $15K worth of electronics and in an ideally setup audio room, so I'm not sure what to conclude.

Suggestions welcome. Thanks in advance!

Gold Member
Username: Artk

Albany, Oregon USA

Post Number: 2537
Can you borrow or take home for demo another cd player? How is your room setup? Are there a lot of reflective surfaces etc?

Post Number: 2
Thanks for the reply.