Thanks for the Panny tip Edster...

Username: Mark_s

St. Paul, MN

Post Number: 8
...but its on its way back to Amazon.

Its okay for surround and maybe its even something of a bargain, given the right speakers and the right room. But for me and my serious late night 2-channel binges it just didn't mate well with my Paradigm Studio 40.v3's. Sound was almost passable on instrumental stuff like straight ahead jazz, latin jazz, and out jazz. But when vocals were mixed in things got pretty thin and bright. I'm a novice and there are people on this board who know a lot more than I do. But it seems to me the vox humana is the real test. On the Panny, both male and female vocalists just sounded too thin and too bright and I couldn't get them to pop in to the middle of the soundstage. Amy Mann, Manfred Mann, Kurt Elling, Curt Cobain, Tom Waits, Tom T. Hall, Neil Young, Ferlin Young, T.S. Eliot, Eliot Smith, Chuck D., Dee Dee Ramone, Emmylou Harris, Lou Reed, Johnny Cash, Johnny Rotten, Iggy Pop, Pop Wagner.... They just didn't sound like they were in the room.

I appreciate this forum. Your collective experience with the NAD surround receivers kept me from making a big mistake (I think). And I don't at all regret giving the Panny a ride. I don't care for any of the brick and mortar hifi shops around here, so its great to audition a piece of gear in my own home for a month and simply pay the shipping cost to return it. Its my kind of shopping. Thanks again, Edster.

I really wanted to like the Panny. And I think Edster has really been quite restrained, given the level of zeal he has for this piece of equipment. But, in the end, I just found the Panasonic a bit bright, thin, and fatiguing for my speakers and my room and my ears.

Silver Member
Username: Ziggyzoggyoioi

Outside Philadelphia, PA

Post Number: 200