What reciever would be a good match?

Username: Phrapp

Post Number: 3
I am a virtual novice when it comes to good stereo or HT equipment, I usually go with the trends. My last reciever was a NAD 751 but it crapped out and the cost to fix will possibly out way the cost of buying a new 6 or 7.1 "Lower end" reciever.

I have some 2 PSB Image 2b speakers and a Alpha ? sub.

What reciever would do the PSB's justice? I loved my NAD but is is WAY to high for my budget now.

My budget is probably around $600-800 CAN.

I love my music and movies so something that will do both would be great.

Gold Member
Username: Artk

Albany, Oregon USA

Post Number: 2320
Any Harman Kardon you can afford. Very good sonic match for the PSB Image series speakers.

Post Number: 4
Thanks for the reply I will take a look at them. I never really considered Harman, was mostly looking at Yamaha.

Thanks

Gold Member

Albany, Oregon USA

Post Number: 2321
Yamaha would work well only if you went with a higher power RX-V series receiver. HK's have a superior power supply if not better sound and reliability. I have a Yamaha and have been enjoying the XM radio. I also have a power amp running the front 2 speakers. See my profile to see what I'm running. All of that gear is in one system. Good luck and let us know if how it goes.

Post Number: 5
Ya you gots, some stuff there. You like the power. 2 pre amps hmm, do your neighbors like you?

Anyways thanks for the info

You say Harmon is a better product then I will believe, but if both products are running the same power/channel such as (90 X 7) what makes Harmon better. Just curious?

My actual desire is to have a great sounding smaller speaker system a sleeper so to say small but will blow you away. Im not sure if I want to go any smaller than a bookshelf, but if there was a good system I might. I used to like the bose acoustimaster systems but everyone I knew said for music they suck.

Silver Member
Username: Smitty

Post Number: 254