Couple questions

Username: Low

Post Number: 1
Hey

I am a college student (which says a little something about my monetary situation) and I am looking to buy a new pair of tower speakers. I used to own a pair of Optimus Lx-Pro 10's (I know, bad brand.. but they sounded nice when I was a kid) that the tweeters blew out on. (they are an odd tweeter--hard to find and expensive... on top of that they would be rough to replace). I run a Pioneer VSX 100x5 5.1 amp

Since my speakers are blown, I am looking to upgrade a little bit. I've been looking into the Cerwin Vega V-12f's, and the Infinity Primus 360 mainly, but I've looked at many things (from Athena's to the well-out-of-my-price-range Paradigm's and Klipchs)

I am looking to get the best bang for my buck, looking for a moderate amount of bass (I dont have enough money to buy a sub)

So, here is my first question: Would it benefit me to wait until after christmas to buy speakers? My mother (an internet shopping guru) claims that there will most likely be significant clearances after the holiday. Is this true in the floor speaker market? If there would be a drop in price, would it outweigh the opportunity cost of getting them now? (we have no music in our apartment--which is rough for parties)

My second question is, Am I looking in the right direction? I know a little over $300 is nothing in the speaker world. I'm just looking to purchase a set that will last me a few years and work great through all applications (Movies, Music etc) If I am not looking in the right direction, where should I look?

Gold Member
Username: Edster922

Abubala, Ababala The Occupation

Post Number: 3079
I would up your budget by $100 and get the Athena AS-F2.2s from audioadvisor.com --- the Primus 360 is not bad if you can get them for $300/pair. Not sure if waiting until after Christmas would make much difference.

I think fluance.com has a $300 pair of towers, haven't heard them myself but some people like that brand.