What dtermines DAC and DSP quality in surround receivers?

Username: Bayboy101

Post Number: 1
I've just jumped into the HT arena and started researching the specs of different surround receivers. Can someone explain what are the primary variables involved in DSP and DAC processors? I've seen Analog Devices Hammerhead SHARC processors and Burr-Brown DAC's mentioned within specs of some of the higher-end units. Can anyone provide clarification?
Thanks

Username: Bvg

Arvada, CO

Post Number: 3
David,

I am also new to HT, and to a lesser extent to audiophile gear in general, but here's my understanding thusfar:

If you're concerned with audio fidelity, Burr-Brown is a good name. So is Crystal. I've demoed units with and without, and you can clearly hear the difference. Not all BB's are created equal, as you might imagine, but it's a good start. Trust your ears. There's no substitute for a great DAC driven by clean op amps.

Build a collection of demo CD's and DVD's, and go fishing. I like Nora Jones, Keb Mo, Peter Cincotti, Dire Straits, and Annie Lenox, for instance. YMMV. On the DVD side, there's The Polar Express and Private Ryan, each with revealing scenes.

In addition to the DAC's, the quality of the power supply will matter, as does the pre-amp section. If the manufacturer is claiming, say, "125 watts into 7 channels", take a look at the UL rating on the power supply on the back. You will often find it rated to a mere 500 watts or so. Last I checked, 125 x 7 makes 875, and you haven't accounted for heat loss, DSP or pre-amp stages yet, as I understand matters.