Will a power amp help..

Username: Tom_nuemann

AdelaideAustralia

Post Number: 1
hi this is my first post here. i am a bit of noob with home a/v. i have ordered a denon 3805 and i have a pair of 4ohm stereo speakers and 60hm centre/surrounds. i am thinking of running a power amp for the stereo speakers to give them more grunt and run the other three speakers from the denon. my questions are:
will i get an improvement in stereo music and if so will i also get an improvement from the other channels for 5.1 as the denon is not working as hard? the amp i am thinking about is the nad c272 for AUD$799. i know with hi-fi the law of diminishing returns comes into play but with the current setup, considering that i am on a tight budget, does anyone think that this power amp would be a worthwhile ivestment? i have read articles that state the difference when adding a power amp can be as significant as going from mono to stereo. that's a big statement but as i am in no position to audition any equipment, i was hoping that someone could give me some advice. it would be invaluable to me. thanks
tom

Silver Member
Username: Cheapskate

Post Number: 467
well first off... driving 4 ohm speakers with a denon doesn't sound like the best idea in the world.

i own a fairly comperable onkyo reciever that practically has a skull and crossbones in it's owner's manual regarding four ohm loads. i've never seen a power rating for denon into 4 ohm loads either.

before you start cranking, read your owner's manual to see what it says about 4 ohm loads. MOST japanese recievers don't have the high current capability that 4 ohm loads require.

when i first heard magnepan speakers, i liked them so much that i decided that i wanted to get a pair, but they're 4 ohm loads too.

after alot of research and wandering, i started hearing about panasonic recievers (rated into 6 ohms), and then people that were using them happily with maggies.