HK AVR 335 with Polk speakers

Username: Jacob_t

Post Number: 1
First off all I am new to this, so forgive my ignorance. I bought a HK 335 and two main Polk mon 50, polk CS1, and 10" sub. The 10" sub is not connected yet. But connected all other speakers and listening to FM music. Couple of questions.
1. When I raise the volume above -20dB, I hear humming sound which is little irritating, any ideas to avoid ?
2. My center is not hearing at all, it was before, don't know if I pressed any wrong button.

Thanks in advance !

Bronze Member
Username: Paul98

Post Number: 38
You won't hear the center unless you use something with surround encoded into it, like a DVD. YOu can get sound out of it if you set it to something like 5 channel stereo, or another DSP.

What is the hum sound coming from, and what are you listening to when you hear the hum?

Gold Member
Username: Edster922

Abubala, Ababala The Occupation

Post Number: 2618
I like HK receivers but have heard some people complain about chronic humming. Ditto for NAD's multichannel receivers.

There is one particular TYPE of receiver that you can rest assured will NEVER EVER have this problem, btw.

Hint: it costs a lot less than the HK335, and some people prefer it to the top of the line HK7200!

Post Number: 2
I am hearing FM music (John tash radio show). I switched to 5 channel stereo but still nothing on center. I will see with a DVD what happens.

The hum comes from the mains when I raise the volume above -20dB. HK 235 might be better, huh ?

Is Athena speakers complement HK receivers better than polk ? I can return my polk speakers !

Silver Member
Username: Kano

Post Number: 706
"HK 235 might be better, huh ?"

Not a chance, if it's there's nothing wrong with any of your connections, it's a bad unit.

I never listen to FM but just to see I put my HK AVR430 up to -10dB just to see if there was any hum. None at all but it was a little distorted only because it's not a great source.

Bronze Member