Is optical digital just like 2 ch. or is it surround, newbie here!

Username: Jamie52

Neptune, NJ

Post Number: 3
I am sorry if it sounds elementary but I need to know if i send a signal thru the optical output on my tv to my reciever is the sound going in as 2 ch. and the reciever breaks it up into 5.1 or does the tv send a signal just like what ever is put in (ex. hdmi ) not sure if my thinking is right or not please help!

Gvenk
Unregistered guest
Depends on the TV but most new TVs are capable of putting out the audio through the digital out as 2-ch PCM or multi-channel Dolby Digital for the receiver to do what it wants to. The newer TV menus will allow you to choose between the two.

The latter format is also compatible with 2-ch only receivers because they see the signal as 2-ch main L+R ignoring the surround channels. So you can always leave the setting there.

Typically newer receivers that support both will auto-detect which format is coming in but you should check the receiver menus/manual to make sure that no manual setting is necessary.

If the TV sends out 2-ch PCM then the receiver cannot create a 5.1 surround as in the original except for some simulated surround systems via artificial enhancements. The original surround information is not available in the 2-ch feed.

Silver Member
Username: Dakulis

Spokane, Washington United States

Post Number: 602
Jamie,

I'm confused. Are you talking about a HDMI connection and a TV program that happens to be recorded in surround sound or are you talking about something coming from another source, like your DVD or CD or VCR player?

Also, it would be helpful to know how you have everything connected. I think Gvenk may be correct on the former but I'm not sure I understood the question.

Username: Jamie52

Neptune, NJ

Post Number: 4