Speaker selector [monster cable]?

Username: Schmidr12

Post Number: 1
i bought a hk635 and a two infinity beta50 speakers [i will be adding more]. also got a 4 channel monster cable speaker selector from cc. i'm new to home audio and was wondering if the speaker selector was a good choice.

my reciever is rated at 75 wattsx7
the speaker selector is 150 watts per channel.

my question is if whether or not i will get the same quality and loudness with the speaker selector hooked up.

i also see there is only 1 input into the selector box one for right and left speaker. How does that figure in? will i still get the 75x7 [525] wattage?

thanks rob

Gold Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 6115

"my question is if whether or not i will get the same quality and loudness with the speaker selector hooked up."

Hooked up to what?

One set of left/right speaker connections means you can switch one set of left/right speaker pairs. To do more than that, you will need either a different switch box or additional switch boxes.

"will i still get the 75x7 [525] wattage?"

To what?

Bronze Member
Username: Rsxman

Post Number: 94
generally you should ask these questions before you start buying things.

But answer Jans questions first and then we can give you more information.

Post Number: 2
i'm sorry, my selector has 2 inputs, one for right and one for left. now since my reciever puts out 75 watts per channel, would that mean my speaker selector only has 150 watts to use for all of the speakers hooked up to it?

Is there a safe way to input more channels into the selector?

my speakers claim to be able to handle 250 watts so in order to get the most sound for my money i'm thinking of just hooking the two infinity beta50's and some small speakers up to the speaker selector. i would do this so i don't steal the power from the beta 50's.

i would then get another selector box for my other pair of beta's.

Post Number: 3