Denon 3805 on screen setup

Username: Newataudio

Post Number: 1
Hey guys and gals,

I am a newbie at this stuff, so bear with me please. I have just set up these components in a surround environment:

SONY KDF-70XBR950
connected directly to HR10-250 High Definition DVR via HDMI to DVI video cable

Denon 3805s AVR used for 5.1 surround connected to Sony TV via fiber optic cable input #1

Panasonic S97S DVD connected directly to Sony TV via component video, with the audio connected directly to Denon 3805 both by fiber optic #2 as well as (3) pairs of red/white into 3805 'external in' inputs.

Question #1: How can I get the on-screen (TV) setup to display on my Sony for the 3805? I assume that since I am bypassing the 3805 by connecting the TiVo box directly to the TV, this is the cause. Is there a connection by which I can still video-connect the 3805 to the TV?

#2: Is this the optimal way (in your opinions) in which to connect these 4 devices? Should I run the TiVo box through the 3805, or leave it and achieve the HDMI>DVI video?

#3: Will I be able to 'tell' if I'm getting use of both the analog/RCA/3-pair connection of the DVD player as well as the #2 optical?

Thanks in advance for any advice,

newataudio

Silver Member
Username: Frank_abela

Berkshire UK

Post Number: 923
AFAIK, the only video outputs you can use on the 3805 to display the OSD are the s-video and composite video outputs. I believe you can't get OSD with component and HDMI outputs but I could be wrong about this.

Your sources should always go through the AVR receiver, not via the display. If the display is also a tuner (like a TV tuner) you can use that as a source too, but you shouldn't go via the display's tuner module since typically it's not as high quality.