Decisions decisions... I need help choosing a Receiver/Amp. Lower end $300<

Username: Ornlu

Post Number: 1
Ok, you guys are probably going to laugh because my equipment is nowhere near most of yours. I'm a little spoiled in the sense that I listen to two beolab pentas when I'm at home, which make my setup sound like crud. But anyway, I'm definitely buying two Athena Audition Series F2's. At the moment I have klipsch promedia's 2.1, I bought a KLH subwoofer from a friend and modified it using a 1000 watt driver, it hits much better but it needs more power as well.

I'm a real newbie as far as amps/receivers go, so I need some advice and didn't know where to start.

Everything runs fine now but the sub is a little underpowered (100 watts, needs about 200-ish). I have no receiver and I'm running all the cables out of the audio out on my high quality sound card.

I realize that I will be needing two things. A) A receiver for the two Athena's + subwoofer. B) possibly a seperate amplifier for the subwoofer as well.

As far as the receiver goes, I've narrowed it down to two choices, but I'm very open to suggestions. My budget for the receiver is $300 or less (yeah I know not enough, but I'm a college student, have to make cuts everywhere)
Rather humerous as these two choices are worlds apart, which is what usually happens to me.

I'd like to use the Digital coax out on my sound card if possible, but I can't find a cheap digital receiver that I like.

1) Onkyo TX-8511 - Stereo receiver, high quality powerful, sounds beautiful, can drive anything, etc, etc. Bare bones in terms of technology, no digital in, no subwoofer out, etc.

2) Panasonic SA-XR25 - Digital receiver, 6.1 (more than I need, but there are no stereo digital recievers that I can find), not very powerfull, the sound quality is good, but not as rich/warm/etc as the Onkyo. Digital is the big plus as I could draw the most from my sound card without having to down the signal into analog right away.