New stereo

Username: Hgihkcin

Post Number: 1
im new to home audio and im wanting to buy a decent audio system and my budget its 700 dollars at max and i want a two channel system
does anyone have any sugesstions on what i should get, are jbl and infinity good speakers, because i was thinking of getting a pair of one of those brands.

Silver Member
Username: Cheapskate

Post Number: 364
JBL and infinity (same company actually... harman international) aren't bad. but if you want better value, canadian speakers like axiom, energy, paradigm and i think PSB are often at the top of the bange for the buck category. if you want a really good minimonitor, stereophile rated the $350 epos els-3 a full "grade" ahead of the likes of infinity & polk.

if you REALLY want the best sound and could just stretch your budget another $50-100... i'd suggest getting magnepan MMGs.

i've lusted over them for a long time. they are so fast and natural sounding, it isn't even funny. vocals and drums sound super real on maggies. the BIGGEST drawback with maggies, is that they're amplifier fussy and power hungry at 4 ohms.

enter panasonic... YES panasonic. they have a couple 100wpc class d SURROUND recievers that can work with maggies for just $230 or so delivered if you shop around.

class d amps are getting rave reviews wherever they appear no matter what the price range is. $230 for 6 channels of class-d is sick!

i ALREADY have a 5 channel system that's pretty darned good
nht superzeros (4 + center)
onkyo 55wpc surround reciever
onkyo DVD player
home modified 12" sealed sub
paradigm electronic crossover

that probably cost me $1000 or more when all is said and done, and i'm trying to scrap it and go the maggie/panny route as i've seen 2 other people very happy with their gear.

i became a planar convert (20 year acoustic suspension minimonitor imaging freak) when $1000 maggies blew my mind. they sound better than $20,000 B&Ws on $40,000 more worth of gear! that's VALUE.