DIY Subwoofer

Username: 3k_fx

Iowa United State...

Post Number: 1
OK, I'm new to the whole A/V department (15 years old). I've always loved great loud and clear music (esspecially my dad's old vintage Pioneer setup; 25+ years old). This summer, I finally worked up enough money to buy my own system.

Pioneer VSX-515-K 6.1 channel 110 watt amplifier
Pioneer S-G300B-K speakers

At the same time I'm very impressed and a little disappointed in my setup. I spent $308 on the system so I think I got the biggest and best quality system I could for the money I spent, but I was rather disappointed by the bass response of these speakers (only rated down to 50 hz). My dad's old Pioneer CS-610 speakers still blow these away AND THE SUBS ARE KICKED IN!!

So, after my lengthy introduction, I'm asking for advice on a homebuilt sub I'm looking at building when I get the money. I do NOT have a very large budget, and at the current rate, the sub I'm looking at building may be too expensive for me. But here I go anyway.

Box - H: 673.1 mm
W: 419.1 mm
D: 609.6 mm

1" MDF board
Vented Box
Internal volume 113.3 L (after estimated bracing, amp, and cone displacement)

Vents=2 76.2 mm diameter
368.3 mm length

Speaker Peerless XLS 12"

Plate Amplifier BASH DIGITAL SUB AMPLIFIER 300W

Upload

This is the response curve of the sub. The port velocity and cone excursions are all within exceptable ranges until 22.5 hz or so with 300 watts power.
Upload
Upload

Now, without increasing expenses any, do any of you have suggestions on how to increse either max SPL or how to extend the range down any? I'd like to achieve a 20-150 hz range with +/-3 db differences. I'd also like to be able to do all of this while powering the sub to it's full 300 watt capacity (though I'd probably rarely need the full power).