Integrated amp or receiver for beginner system?

Username: Wongoz

Post Number: 1
There's no such thing as dumb questions, right? Ok, here goes...

I'm upgrading from a mini-system to a proper separates system. I don't have anything to reuse, so I'm looking at getting all necessary components, but as I'm a postgrad student, money is a big priority.

I listen mostly to my iPod and CDs, but also radio on occasion. I also have an iRiver slim portable CD player, which could temporarily double as my CD input, but I'm actually leaning towards a DVD player that can do DVD-A as well.

So my problem is... should I be getting an integrated amp or a surround sound receiver? From what I have read, i think the integrated amp is the best option, since I can get something like the NAD C320BEE or the Cambridge Audio Azur 340A for a good price.

But i also read that DVD-A outputs only in 5.1 analog, and most IAs don't do surround sound. So what are my options for a receiver that could handle that?

Besides the main amp/receiver and speakers (thinking of Axiom M3ti - any other recommendations?), i'm also planning on getting an Apple Airport Express so I can stream music from my laptop. I know that you can have both analog or optical out from the Airport Express, so I'm not worried about compatibility there.

Thoughts and/or comments appreciated.

Silver Member
Username: Cheapskate

Post Number: 268
well surround recievers aren't as bad as many seem to think they are. i LOVE my CHEAP 55wpc dts onkyo reciever playing STEREO with my NHT superzeros MORE than my dedicated NAD stereo reciever which is way too polite (even muffled sounding) in the treble fore my tastes with THOSE speakers. on the other hand, it sucks to listen to my already bright mission M71s on the onkyo.

NAD is fine if you tend to prefer a warmer sound. i'm a bass hating treble freak, so onkyo works for me.