What Wattage for my bedroom?

Username: Bartleandy

Post Number: 1
Hey guys.

Im new to all this and im just looking at purchasing an amp + a few spekaers for my bedroom. It will be connected to my computer.

My room is about 6m by 7m.

I was looking at impendance 8ohms as usual. Is this a good choice?

I also have no idea what wattage I would need? It needs to be loudish but not so loud my window breaks. What would you reccomend?

Remember I am a student on a budget!

Thanks
Andy.

Silver Member
Username: Cheapskate

Post Number: 218
for a small room, 50 watts should be adequate for typical listening unless you're using really inefficient speakers.

THAT has just as much effect on volume as amplifier power. every time you lose 3dB of speaker efficiency, you need to DOUBLE amplifier power to get the same volume level.

many tube fanatics with high efficiency speakers use amps with as little as 2-5 watts!

a 90dB efficient (typical) speaker will play at 90dBs with one watt of power. 2 watts = 93dB 4 watts = 96dB and so on.

there's a whole school of hi-fi caled "eye-fi" (mostly british) where people only use 20-30W amps feeling that bigger amps are less refined sounding.

my 89dB mission speakers can get up and boogie decent enough with my 20 watt yamaha boombox amp. at one point, i was using this setup as my SUBWOOFERS for my tiny superzeros.

the best rule of thumb that i've read is that regardless of power rating, it's THE FIRST WATT that counts.

i'd bet you could get by with 30 watts easily with typical speakers depending on what YOUR definition of loud is.

some people aren't satisfied with anything short of hearing destroying party volume levels, while sensible listeners typically listen at 80dB or so most of the time so they can hear another day.

tough question to answer, hope this helps.

Silver Member

Post Number: 219
on a budget... just get a $100 reciever (sometimes 100watts) and a nice $200 pair of bookshelf speakers and a cheap DVD or CD player.