Polk R15 Advice

Username: Krazymofo24

Dallas, Texas

Post Number: 5
I have a pair of Klipsch B-2's and I just bought two pairs of Polk R15's $50 a pair on sale at Fry's. I am using two R15's as a center and two as surrounds. I just have a bedroom to work with.
Should I use the two klipsch's for the center and have the front's as R15's? I will upgrade again in a few months, should I go towards Polk or Klipsch?

Gold Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 5064

The R15's are not a great speaker. Keep their role as much on the supporting side of better performers as possible.

Dallas, Texas

Post Number: 6
You are right they are not great, I am new to the home theater set up. I been using my PC and a 4.1 Logitech speakers as my main source of movies,games, and music. I bought a 32 inch HDTV for my room and an Onkyo HTIB($235) came with a reciever instead of a dvd player. The R15's sound two times better then the Onkyo's. Should I return the Klipsch's they cost $250 tax included and replace them with a pair of Polk's since I have the R15's. The R15's are just temps for atleast a few months.

Silver Member
Username: Kano

Post Number: 576
First I think you need to decide who's "sound" you like better - Polk or Klipsch. From there both companies offer a long line of products from entry to reference level. I personally prefer the Polk's smoothness but envy the Klipsch's ability to reveal every last nuance in the recording.

And yes, you want to go with one company or the other, mismatching speakers can work well enough in a system, but in this case the speakers sonic characteristics are so diverse you won't want them together.

Gold Member
Username: Edster922

Abubala, Ababala The Occupation

Post Number: 1549
The R15s are one of the better under-$100/pr. speakers, with a surprisingly much better tweeter than the higher priced models of Polk's R series.