A little help please.

Silver Member
Username: Shouder

Wisconsin

Post Number: 134
Well, I hate to say it but I feel a little out of place over on this side of the forum. Personality Im a car audio guy, but being a college student I dont have the funds to put into my home that I did for my car. I need a 5.1 setup that has a powered sub. I already have the reciever that I plan on using. I still like great quality but in this case it has to be at a low price, around $200-300(ebay prices). So far the best system that I found that was in that price range was Infinity's Tss-450. However, correct me if im wrong but I believe they have metallic tweeters which i think will be too bright for me. Im looking for something a little more neutral like dynaudio's speakers.

Silver Member
Username: Devils_advocate

Post Number: 173
I would recommend the Athena Micra 6 ($299, Best Buy) or the Cambridge Soundworks Movieworks 58 ($240, ebay). Not exactly top of the line, but its better than a Durabrand setup from Walmart.

Gold Member
Username: Edster922

Abubala, Ababala The Occupation

Post Number: 1525
Don't know what kind of gear you have in your car, but if $200-300 is your budget for the whole 5.1 shebang and you plan to use your home system for music listening too, you will probably be disappointed.

If that was absolutely all I could spend, I'd just buy a really good set of headphones.

Or just buy a half-decent pair of speakers (see Athena AS-B2s, $150/pair from audioadvisor.com) and a budget sub (Dayton 10" sub from partsexpress.com, about $150 shipped).

The Athena Micra would be sort of OK if you're not doing much music listening though. Also look at fluance.com they have really cheap speakers but I doubt you're going to get anything very "neutral" at that price point.

What's the receiver?

Silver Member
Username: Devils_advocate

Post Number: 174