B & w 600 series questions

Username: Monk_d_syple

Post Number: 1
Hi,

I recently aquired the b&w 600 series for my home cinema. FR L R are the DM602 5 S3 the cntr is a LCR60 s3 the subw is an ASW600 and the backs are LMIs. I use a denon avr 1905 as my receiver and music fidelity xa-50 A class amps to run each speaker (1 amp per speaker). A technician from the store came to set it all up.

I'm not happy at all with the sound. It is very bassy and not clear at all (distortion). Stereo is awful when I play music. Dialogue is very low and bassy. Basically treble is barely heard on movies (dialogue) nor music. Any clue anyone?

Silver Member
Username: Jimvm

Louisiana U.S.A.

Post Number: 165
I'm no expert but something similar happened to me after I set up my HT speakers. My center channel speaker sounded very bassy; very little treble at all. Turned out one of the jumper bars that connects one of the high frequency terminals to the low/mid frequency terminal below it was missing. It made the sound, particularly dialogue, very muffled.

I don't know if that's your specific problem or not but I do feel it's a problem relating to how they're connected. B&W 600 series speakers are very nice sounding speakers; they should not sound like you describe them. I would go back over every connection to ensure that they are in phase and to ensure all the jumper bars are in place.

Username: Monk_d_syple

Post Number: 2
Thanks for the tip I will chaeck with the techy. He is coming back tmrw. I hope there is a solution. what do you think of my receiver? couls it be the problem (quality). Maybe it is not processing the sounds properly.

Silver Member
Username: Falp

Portugal

Post Number: 141
Usual B&W 6xx problem...

Try a Marantz AV receiver, or even a NAD...

Silver Member
Username: Frank_abela

Berkshire UK

Post Number: 740
The 1905 does not have auto setup. Did the tech set it up with an SPL meter or by ear?