8 ohm works 4 Doesn't /tube amp

Silver Member
Username: Joe_c

Oakwood, Ga

Post Number: 853
I just aquired a Jolida 502b nearly new and seem to have some trouble. The 8 ohm speaker connectors work fine on both channels, but the 4 ohm only works on one side. I tried different sources with no avail. Since I am new to this tube thing, can anyone point me in the right direction. I can perform minor service in the way of soldering and checking lines or connections with a multimeter.
thanks in advance.

Silver Member

Oakwood, Ga

Post Number: 855
Hooking it up to the 8 ohm side though, it sounds magical. I only have Totem Rainmaker bookshelves so , correct me if i am wrong, this shouldn't harm the amp or speakers running off the 8 ohm speaker hookups. Of course I am not blasting it either.

Gold Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 4854

First of all, don't run a tube power amp without a load conencted. The amp will start to oscillate and eventually it can do serious damage to itself.

If this is a new amplifier under warranty, I wouldn't open any of the case work. You could possibly void your warranty.

Did you buy the amp from a dealer with a warranty? Is this a brick and mortar shop where you can ask them to open the amp and check for poor connections?

Silver Member

Oakwood, Ga

Post Number: 857
No warranty, slightly used, got it for 600. Runs great on 8 ohm.

Silver Member

Oakwood, Ga

Post Number: 858
I was reading this: