How fdoes Yamaha compare?

Bug
Unregistered guest
Guys,

I'm new to the receiver scene and was wondering how the Yamaha compares to other receivers like Marantz, Denon, NAD & HK? I'm looking for something in the 500 range for my Monitor 5's, CC-370, ADP-370 & PW1200. Crystal clear sound is the most important thing and I dont have a bright/warm preference. Any thoughts & what models? Thanks!!!

Bug

anonymousII
Unregistered guest
Check out the Yamaha 1500. It can be had for a bit over $500 from several of the wholesalers on this website. Just be sure you know who you are dealing with and feel comfortable with their policies as it's likely you will not get the Yamaha warranty but only the warranty the seller gives you. Sonically the 1500 is a great match for your Paradigms.

Bug
Unregistered guest
Any notable differences between the RX-V series and the HTR series? What HTR would be comparable/better than the RX-V 1500?

Thanks
Bug

anonymousII
Unregistered guest
The 5890 is basically the same as the 1500. The RX-V series looks much nicer though.

Bug
Unregistered guest
I live in an isolated area of northern Canada. however, a local store has the 5890 in stock. I might take it home to give it a "test drive". I can't seem to find any websites that deliver to Canada so it might mean that I'm at the mercy of the dealers here and pay through the nose. The 5890 is $1080 Cad + 7% tax. What do you think?

Thanks!
Bug

anonymousII
Unregistered guest
Sounds like your options are quite limited. If you can return the 5890 without a lot of hassle give it a try. I think you'll find it sounds very nice with your Paradigms. I have no idea what the price you mention equals in US money nut at Best Buy here it sells for $799 regularly but for less than $550 at the wholesalers.

Username: Manhattan01

Vancouver, BC Canada

Post Number: 7