Advise: Static Through Speakers When Volume Turned to Lowes Setting?

Username: Lovegasoline

NYC

Post Number: 3
I'm a newbie ready to start my first budget system. I'm wondering if someone can give me a quick and dirty answer ASAP.
I found a local guy selling an older (mid 1980's) Yamaha integrated amp model A-700. I do not know what to check for to inspect the unit, but another poster suggested that I check that the switches all work, make certain the levels right/left channel are equal, and to make certain there is no popping of crackling sound when turning any of the knobs.
I emailed the seller with the info & this is what he wrote back::

"I have the amp hooked up right now to a CD player. Feel free to bring a CD
to listen to if you want. I also have a bunch, mostly jazz. I tried all
the things that your advice talked about, and the only thing I noticed is
that when turning the volume all the way down to silence, there's some
slight static that comes through the speakers. This happens when the volume
is nearly all the way to the left. Other than that I didn't notice
anything."

Just going off the cuff from his description, is that static indicative of a potential problem that I should be concerned about, or is it just some of speaker hiss or something minor?

If you an write back ASAP I'd appreciate it, I'd like to go by tonight and listen/buy it.
Thanks!

PS: I posted this here (and on the integrated amp section, figured it'd get more replies here)

Gold Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 4646