$2,500 Budget for new home theater speakers

Anonymous

Hello, I'm putting in a new home theater system and I'm fairly new to this so I though I would get the opinion of people who actually know what they are doing. I'm looking for something that actually sounds like I'm at the movies. I currently have a home theater with Energy speakers (Encore 8). They are great speakers but they don't have the power I'm looking for. Right now I'm leaning towards the Klipsch Synergy Series. The front floor standing speakers are maximum 600w each (model F-3), while the center speaker is 400w (model C-2). The surround speakers are 400w each (model S-2) and the subwoofer has a 650w maximum (12in sub). I'm thinking about powering these speakers with a THX certified Yamaha HTR-5890 980w receiver. Bestbuy has this audio package for $2,439.93. If anyone has suggestions for an audio system, I would be very appreciative. I would like to keep the price for the audio system at $2,500 or less.

Thanks in advanced!

Bronze Member
Username: Rsxman

Post Number: 19
no dont get that, I use to work for best buy and the klipsch speakers with the yammie receiver is too bright a set up. Keep in mind that price is just the package, not all the wires. The wires will run you another $300 if you're lucky.

Best bang for buck is my opinion is an Athena AS-f1 or AS-f2 with AS-c1 and two AS-r1's with a HK or Marantz receiver, you could even go with a Denon and that would match up nicely. I have the 5790 which is the older yammie than what they currently offer. You can get a better receiver that will match up with these speakers for $600 or so. The cables is what will get you.