DVD Player is "Downmixing" to receiver...Why?

Username: Campo

Denver, Colorado USA

Post Number: 2
I have a question for you all. I am relatively new to the whole surround sound technology so I am not sure what is going on with my DVD player to receiver connection. I purchased the Yamaha 760 package system. Followed all the fun hook-up information using the coaxial sound output but also using the component video connections. My question is whenever I play a DVD the "downmixing" light comes on. I have the audio setup as Multi-Channel (instead of stereo or virtual surround). It is a 5.1 system so my 2 surrounds, 2 fronts, center and subwoofer are all hooked up and all play sound...beautifully I might add. But the green downmixing light is always on during 5.1 audio playback of DVDs. Can anyone explain to me why this is? Am I being to vague? Thanks in advance for your help.

Silver Member
Username: Kano

Post Number: 527
downmixing you say...

Sounds like the DVD player has Dolby Digital and DTS set to PCM. On this default setting the digital track is downmixed to PCM since most systems are connected to a TV and not a receiver which can receive and decode the digital signal. Make sure both Dolby Digital and DTS are set to bittstream.

Denver, Colorado USA

Post Number: 3