ProAc - Revel - B&W - Totem???

Username: Somphon

Post Number: 1
I'm new to hi-end audio and would appreciate your comments. Anyone have any experience with these speakers?
1. ProAc Response One SC
2. Revel M20
3. B&W either 705 or 805 series
4. Totem Model 1
What are their characteristics and what int-amp should I use with them? I have about the same budget for the speakers for the i-amp.

My preference in music is vast from classical-jazz-voclas-r&b. But I demand quality from jazz vocal, jazz (trumpet/Sax), and classicals more than pop or r&b.

Your comment is appreciated. Thank you!

Silver Member
Username: Joe_c

Oakwood, Ga

Post Number: 571
The only one I have heard are the Totems on a Mac tube setup, they were simply delightful.

Silver Member
Username: Petergalbraith

Rimouski, Quebec Canada

Post Number: 962
I've only ever heard the older B&W 801. They had great detail and deep los bass, but didn't image for me so left me wanting. I didn't have time to suggest moving furniture around and was in a polite situation anyway...

Have you heard any of them? What were your thoughts?

Silver Member

Rimouski, Quebec Canada

Post Number: 963
s/los/low/

Gold Member
Username: Artk

Albany, Oregon USA

Post Number: 1105
Of the group you have listed I prefer the ProAc's. They have the best overall imaging and soundstage depth. Their sound is very balanced and not over analytical. I heard them with several integrated's but preferred Naim and SimAudio. Of the speakers you have listed my least favorite would be the B&W 700 series. I used to like them a great deal but lately I've had opportunity compare them to Paradigm's Reference series and the 700's came up short by a wide margin. My listening preferences are much the same as yours as too are my demands of a speaker.

Silver Member

Rimouski, Quebec Canada

Post Number: 964
The list includes both big and small speakers... Is there is reason? What size room will be used?

Silver Member
Username: T_bomb25