Ohms MicroWalsh Talls after 1 year of ownership (warning long post)

Username: Iknownuttin

OttawaCanada

Post Number: 1
I've seen a couple of postings on the Ohms MicroWalsh speakers and I'd thought I'd post my impression of the Tall's after a year of ownership. I'm no expert when it comes to sound but as a former musician I think I have a decent ear, at the very least I know what I like and dislike. Nothing like living with the suckers to really know what they sound like. For those who don't want to bother with my long winded description:

/ Flame suit on
to MY PERSONAL EAR and PRICE range (ie sub $1,000 pair), I find the Ohms MicroWalsh Talls are the better sounding speaker then the Totem Accouctic Sttaf, Klipsch RF-7 and Heritage Heresy II, Axiom, Paragdim, Mirage and other usual suspect found at your well stocked mid price Hi-Fi shop. The Totems are a little better but are more expensive, more difficult to place for optimum sound and don't offer the same on site evaluation offer.
/end Flame suit off

If you like your speakers on the natural side (no colour, no need for equalizer), under $1,000 and don't care if nobody recognizes the brand and can turn a blind eye to the finish then Ohms is the winner in my book. Sound wise the Totems are a little better and the finish is impeccable however they require careful placement (less flexible) and you'll need to bargain hard to get them at $1,000 (at least they were last year). Both are tall floor standing yet small (8"x8"). Very important note, don't bother listening to Ohms if they haven't had at the very least 100 hours of serious break in time. I don't know about the break in period for the Totem but the ones that I compared had several 100 hours as well. Also keep in mind that this was done 1 year ago.

Many of you will likely want to disagree and to that, all I will say is for those who actually compared these in-situ "vive la difference" (loosely translated ... without diversity life would be boring).