Ascend, Axiom, Aperion, Rocket - help please!

Unregistered guest
Hi, sorry for those who have seen this kind of topic too much, but these four are the frontrunners in "budget HT systems" category, which I'm researching and hope to finally decide on one. 80% movie + 20% music

So after reading a lot of reviews and forum posts I kind of get the following impressions (I'm new to audio so please forgive me if the comments are not accurate, again they totally based on study, not my own):

- Ascend (CBM-170/HTM-200/CMT-340/VTF-2): this may well be the system of choice for me, everything is good (I don't care too much about appearance) especially Hsu VTF-2. But looking at their web site makes me wonder if they are a serious business, the product order form doesn't include the HT package listed here, there's no warranty policy stated anywhere... BTW, any comment on their sale/service experience?

- Axiom Epic Grand Master: almost neck-to-neck with Ascend, except for a weak sub. All good reviews on M22ti and QS8 (with its enveloping surround effect). I wonder if I can ditch the sub and replace with a HSU and get the best of both world.

- Aperion 522D: this is the most contraversial system. CNET rates it top of the list but almost ALL forum posts are negative with comments such as "boxed-in", "too bright", "fatiguing", etc. How do I sift thru all the information and find out the truth!

- Rocket ELT: very contraversial also! maybe the design caters to a specific taste?

Any help is appreciated, thanks in advance!

Bronze Member
Username: Sssand2

Post Number: 15
newbiee,
I will tell you that Ascend is a serious business and they have a 30 in-home no questions asked return policy. They, Axiom, and AV123 all have excellent customer service and products. I can't speak to Aperion as I didn't audition them.